Jongerenwelzijn

Within the framework of an integrated policy on a Flemish policy level regarding the well-being of child refugees who arrived with or without a family in the context of the 2015 refugee crisis, Solentra has been receiving financial support from the Department of Youth Welfare: the objective is to provide trauma-related support to this target group and support for professionals involved with this target group, across the whole of Flanders.

There is still a huge demand in the area for a specialised provision of trauma therapy services for the target group and for professional support for the members of society involved with this group. The flow of officially recognised refugees following the refugee crisis is still very much underway. Some target groups keep coming, such as unaccompanied minors and Palestinians. The reunification of families also contributes to this continued influx.

In 2017, 15,373 applications for international protection were filed; 2018 saw an ever increasing number of such applications. 46% of those who are granted protection is a minor or adolescent (up to 25 years of age).

Flanders receives just under half of all applicants (from 43 to 49%) and, in the period from 2016 – 2018, there was a continuously increasing inflow into Flanders from Wallonia once official refugee status had been granted, with 50 to 64% of protected persons choosing to live in Flanders.

Family reunification is another cause of the inflow: in 2016, 50,928 initial residence titles were issued on the basis of family reunification: more than 50% of these were issued to family members from asylum applicants’ countries of origin. 3259 initial residence titles were issued by the Belgian State to family members to beneficiaries of international protection (resettlement), with Syria, Iraq, Palestine and Afghanistan at the top of the list of recipients.

Furthermore, legislation was amended by way of a ruling from the Court of Justice from 12/04/2018, which stipulated that, within the framework of the directive on family reunification,  the time at which an application for asylum is filed shall count as the decisive moment regarding one’s qualification “as an isolated minor”. The Department of Alien Affairs will have to adjust its policy in accordance with this, which is likely to cause an increase in the number of family requests submitted by non-accompanied minors.

Target group:

  • Children and their families, officially recognised refugees or those granted subsidiary protection who live within Solentra’s operating range.
  • Unaccompanied minors who are staying in a reception centre that has been organised by the Flemish Community or who live alone. An age limit of up to 25 has been imposed, taking into account the vulnerability of these youths and an often difficult family reunification process.

Core tasks:

  1. provision of direct (trauma) treatment and therapy for the above-stated target group
  2. organisation of case-based support of, and consultation and liaison sessions for, professionals from the field of youth welfare, the educational sector and all actors who contribute to the integration process that are involved with the target group; this service is intended to help them in their work with the target group and to work together to initiate a treatment plan.

The above-listed services we provide are always to be understood as complementary to the standard services provided in Flanders in the field of mental health (mental health centres, child and youth psychiatry networks, ‘Een kind, een plan’ networks,…) if said services are not accessible to the identified target group; all services provided are done so in line with Solentra’s vision and mission. The services we offer are organised in those areas of Flanders where they are needed the most, and the performance of said services is always conducted in close collaboration and consultation with other actors involved in the process, particularly with other services from the healthcare, welfare and education sector that are officially recognised or licensed by the Flemish Community, and which organise shelter, guidance or other services for unaccompanied minors of child refugees with a non-temporary residence status living within the operating range of the initiator. The specific design of the services we provide is created in close consultation with the Department of Youth Welfare.

Contacteer Ons.

Proin facilisis blandit massa, vel pellentesque felis vehicula ac. Etiam elementum eros et ligula mollis.

Nieuwsbrief

Proin facilisis blandit massa, vel pellentesque felis vehicula ac. Etiam elementum eros et ligula mollis.

Agentschap Jongerenwelzijn/ Agence flamande d’aide à la jeunesse

Solentra a commencé à bénéficier de l’appui financier du département d’aide à la jeunesse dans le contexte de la crise de l’asile de 2015, dans le cadre de l’intégration politique flamande du volet concernant le bien-être des enfants réfugiés avec ou sans famille ; l’objectif consistait alors en un accompagnement traumatique et un appui professionnel du public-cible pour l’ensemble de la Flandre.

Il continue d’y avoir une forte demande de la part du terrain en ce qui concerne l’offre spécialisée de thérapie traumatique pour le public-cible et le renforcement de l’expertise des acteurs sociaux concernés. La régulation du flux des réfugiés reconnus à la suite de la crise de l’asile est encore en cours. Certain groupes-cibles continuent d’affluer, tels les MENA et les palestiniens. Le regroupement familial continue par ailleurs à alimenter l’afflux.

15.373 demandes de protection internationale ont été introduites en 2017, la courbe ascendante se confirmant en 2018. 46% des personnes obtenant la protection sont des mineurs ou de jeunes adultes (jusqu’à 25 ans).

La Flandre accueille un peu moins de la moitié de tous les demandeurs (entre 43 et 49%) et la période 2016-2018 a connu un afflux croissant de la Wallonie vers la Flandre ; une fois reconnus, 50 à 64% des personnes protégées choisissent de vivre en Flandre.

Le regroupement familial est une autre source d’afflux : 50.928 premiers titres de séjour ont été accordés en 2016 sur base du regroupement familial, dont plus de 50% à des membres de la famille issus de pays d’origine de demandeurs d’asile. 3.259 premiers titres de séjour ont été accordés par l’Etat Belge à des membres de la famille de bénéficiaires de la protection internationale (relocalisation), la Syrie, l’Irak, la Palestine et l’Afghanistan occupant le peloton de tête.

Un amendement de la législation a par ailleurs décidé, avec l’arrêt de la Cour de Justice du 12/04/2018, que le moment de la soumission de la demande d’asile serait désormais décisif pour décider de la qualification de « mineur non-accompagné » dans le cadre de la directive relative au regroupement familial. L’office des Etrangers se verra contraint d’adapter sa politique, ce qui devrait susciter une augmentation du nombre de demandes familiales introduites par des MENA.

Public-cible :

  • Les enfants et leurs familles, réfugiés reconnus ou bénéficiant de la protection subsidiaire et vivant dans la zone d’exercice de Solentra.
  • Les Mineurs Etrangers Non Accompagnés (MENA) résidant dans un lieu d’accueil organisé par la Communauté Flamande ou vivant seuls. La limite d’âge est ici placée à 25 ans eu égards à la vulnérabilité de ces jeunes et aux difficultés souvent rencontrées au cours de la procédure de regroupement familial.

Missions principales :

  1. Proposer une prise en charge (traumatique) et une thérapie au groupe-cible ci-haut mentionné
  2. Organiser un appui pour certains cas particulier, avec une consultation et une liaison à vers les professionnels de Jongerenwelzijn, du secteur de l’enseignement et de tous les acteurs impliqués aux côtés du public-cible et stimulant leur intégration ; l’accent est mis ici sur la manière de travailler avec ce public-cible et sur la mise en place conjointe d’un plan de prise en charge.

L’offre ci-dessus reste complémentaire – en ligne avec la mission de Solentra – de l’offre régulière existant en Flandre en matière de soins de santé mentale (CGGZ, réseaux de psychiatrie infantile et juvénile, réseaux een kind een plan, etc.) lorsque celle-ci n’est pas ouverte au groupe-cible concerné. Cette offre est organisée en Flandre là où les besoins du terrain sont les plus criants ; la mise en œuvre de la mission se fait toujours en étroite collaboration et dans un ajustement avec les autres acteurs impliqués : en particulier avec les autres services reconnus ou assermentés de la communauté flamande des secteurs de la santé, du bien-être et de l’enseignement organisant l’accueil, l’accompagnement ou d’autres services à destination des MENA et des enfants réfugiés résidant ou non avec un titre de séjour temporaire dans la sphère professionnelle du preneur d’initiative. Le visage concret de l’offre se dessine en concertation étroite avec le département Jongerenwelzijn.

Contact

Nieuwsbrief